Eastern Provinces


Sierra Leone’s Eastern Province is another administrative region of the country. It is located in the eastern part of Sierra Leone and is bordered by the Republic of Guinea to the north and northeast, the Southern Province to the west, and the Northern Province to the northwest.

The Eastern Province is divided into three districts: Kailahun, Kenema, and Kono. The capital and largest city of the Eastern Province is Kenema.

The Eastern Province is known for its diverse geography, which includes mountains, plateaus, and rivers. The region has significant mineral resources, including diamonds, gold, and rutile. Agriculture is also an important sector, with crops such as rice, coffee, cocoa, oil palm, and various fruits and vegetables being cultivated.

Languages spoken:

The Eastern Province is home to various ethnic groups, including:

  • Mende
  • Kissi
  • Kono
  • Sherbro among others

Each group has its own languages, traditions, and cultural practices.

Tourism Potential:

  • The province offers opportunities for ecotourism and wildlife spotting, particularly in national parks and wildlife sanctuaries.
  • The historical and cultural heritage of the region provides a basis for cultural tourism and engagement with local communities.


Lost your password?

Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in


184 Mayfield St. Hopewell
Junction, NY 12533



National Tourist Board